Under-19 World Cup Super Six: 12 teams, two groups, and why there will be no clash between India and Pakistan?

Also, teams will carry forward points earned and NRR against two other teams that progressed from their respective groups

espncricinfo staff29-January-2024 • 4 minutes ago

India is among three teams to finish the group stage undefeated ICC/Getty Images

The group stage of the 2024 Under-19 World Cup ended with Australia's win over Sri Lanka and India's defeat over USA, meaning we have now advanced to the Super Six stage of the competition.

India, Bangladesh and Ireland qualified from Group A, while South Africa, England and West Indies from Group B advanced to the next stage. Australia top Group C, with Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe also making it, while Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal complete the lineup from Group D. The Super Six stage starts on Tuesday, here's what you need to know about it.

Wait, it's called the Super Six stage, but there are 12 teams? Understand its meaning!

It's a simple thing. The twelve teams are divided into two groups of six each, and the top two teams from each of these groups will advance to the semi-finals. In the first round, three teams each from Group A and Group D will form one group in the Super Six teams and the other six teams will form the second group.

So what are the big games to watch in the Super Six stage?

On the first day of the Super Six stage, India will face New Zealand, Sri Lanka will face West Indies and Pakistan will face Ireland. Australia and England will face each other on Wednesday. India's second match is against Nepal on Friday. Australia-West Indies, South Africa-Sri Lanka and Pakistan-Bangladesh are some of the other potential blockbuster matches. You can find the complete fixture list Here,

But India and Pakistan are in the same group. Aren't they going to play with each other?

Even though they are in the same Super Six group, the two teams will not face each other at this stage of the World Cup. How it works is that each team plays two games against two teams that were in a different position to them in the group stage. So since both India and Pakistan topped their respective groups in the group stage, they will not face each other.

Do teams get a chance to carry any points from the group stage?

Yes, teams will carry forward the points earned and net run rate against the two other teams who progressed from their respective groups. For example, India, Australia and Pakistan will start the Super Six stage with a maximum of four points, having won all their group games.

source link

Leave a Reply

Discover more from OlxPraca

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading