Under-19 World Cup: For the third time in 12 months, India loses world title to Australia. News – Business Standard

Just as Soumya Pandey was caught behind the stumps by Ryan Hicks in the ICC Under-19 World Cup Final 2024 in Benoni, South Africa and the last Indian wicket fell, once again the dreams of Indian cricket against Australia were shattered. With this 79-run defeat, India not only lost the chance to become champions for a record six times in the finals, but it was also the country's third defeat to Australia in the finals in the last 12 months.

losing the world test championship 2023 final

Click here to follow our WhatsApp channel

It begins with the World Test Championship 2023 Final at The Oval, England in June 2023. India lost by 209 runs as Travis Head and the Australian bowlers ensured they became the first team to lift a quadruple ICC trophy.

Sad defeat of ODI World Cup 2023

If the WTC final defeat was painful, the one-sided thrashing at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Hamidabad in the ODI World Cup 2023 final was heartbreaking for Indian fans.

After defeating all the teams in the tournament including Australia in the last 10 matches, the Indian team did not reach the final as they could only score 240 runs in 50 overs, which was never enough in the second half. Innings, where dew was going to play a big role. Travis scored a century and India lost again to Australia in the final for the world title.

Under-19 World Cup Final 2024: Big defeat

The year changed from 2023 to 2024, but the fortunes of the Indian team facing Australia in the final of the world-class competition in cricket did not change. India Under-19 team dominated the tournament throughout the tournament and then made a spectacular comeback in the semi-finals with Uday Saharan and Sachin Dhaas registering a spectacular win over hosts South Africa.

However, in the final, the Australian Colts were too good for the Indian boys with both bat and ball and lost the match by a huge margin of 79 runs. The difference could have been bigger had Murugan Abhishek and Naman Tiwary not made late progress.

IND vs AUS ICC Knockouts from 2015

The Indian and Australian cricket teams have met 10 times in knockout matches in world tournaments across all formats, levels and genders since 2015. This includes the Under-19 World Cup, Women's T20 World Cup, Women's ODI World Cup, Commonwealth Games, ODI World Cup. Cup, T20 World Cup and World Test Championship. The Australian team has dominated India by winning seven of these matches. India won only once and lost five times in the finals of the competition.

India vs Australia result in knockout since 2015

2015 WC SF – L

2017 Women's WC SF – W

2018 U19 Men's World Cup Final – W

2020 W T20 World Cup Final – L

2022 Commonwealth Games (Women) – L

2022 U19 Men WC SF – W

2023 WC T20 SF – L

2023 WTC Final – L

2023 World Cup Final – L

2024 U19 Men's World Cup Final -L

Leave a Reply

Discover more from OlxPraca

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading