U19 Men's World Cup: Stage set for crucial Super Six round – Yes Punjab – Latest News from Punjab, India & World

– Advertisement –

Johannesburg, 29 January 2024-

The top three teams from each of the original four groups in the U19 Men's CWC have advanced to the next stage of the competition – the Super Six – after an exciting round of preliminary group matches in South Africa.

The Super Six will consist of the top three teams from each of the four round-robin groups, with the teams from Groups A and D advancing to form one group, and the teams from B and C to form another group.

Importantly, each team carries forward points earned and net run rate (NRR) against fellow Super Six qualifying teams.

The six teams that have made it from Group A and D are India, Bangladesh, Ireland, Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal. South Africa, England, West Indies, Australia, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe have advanced from Groups B and C.

Teams will play two matches in the Super Six stage against their respective group opponents who finished in a different position in their group. This means that India (top players in Group A) will face New Zealand (second place in Group D) and Nepal (third place in Group D).

The top two teams from the two Super Six groups will then advance to the semi-final stage. The two semi-finals are to be held on 6 and 8 February. The final will be held on 11 February, with all three knockout matches taking place in Benoni.

It has been an entertaining tournament so far. There have been high-scoring contests as well as exciting low-scoring contests, with aggressive batting performances as well as aggressive bowling.

Group A ended with India reaching the summit after three convincing wins in Bloemfontein. Bangladesh overcame the defeat to India with two consecutive wins, while Ireland comfortably defeated the United States in the tournament opener to qualify as the third team.

Group B saw brilliant individual and team performances in a number of unexpected fixtures, with the top three teams finishing on the same points. Hosts South Africa won two and lost one, with England and the West Indies also moving ahead of fourth-placed Scotland.

Australia, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe enter the Super Six in Group C. Despite tough matches against Namibia and Sri Lanka, Australia remained undefeated in the group stage. Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe finished second and third respectively.

Group D produced the most exciting final of the tournament, with two very exciting matches. Pakistan emerged as table-toppers, but New Zealand and Nepal fought back to beat Afghanistan by one wicket each to book their places in the Super Six.

Meanwhile, the United States, Afghanistan, Namibia and Scotland – the four teams that did not reach the second stage of the tournament – ​​will compete in a play-off for the last four spots. (agency)

– Advertisement –

Leave a Reply

Discover more from OlxPraca

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading