India in U19 World Cup final: A look at the team's five wins and 8 title clashes before the IND vs AUS match

India have once again secured a place in the final of the Under-19 World Cup, which is their fifth consecutive title clash and ninth overall. Their latest win came in the semi-final against South Africa, where they secured a narrow two-wicket victory to advance to the final against Australia.

Rishabh Pant (L), Virat Kohli (C), and Prithvi Shaw during their respective U19 World Cup campaigns (Getty)

The highly anticipated final is set to take place on Sunday, February 11 at Willowmoor Park in Benoni, South Africa, setting the stage for an exciting encounter between the Colts in Blue and their Australian counterparts.

Experience the rich history of Delhi through a series of heritage walks with HT! participate now

As India prepare for the upcoming final, it is appropriate to reflect on their past performances in the history of the Under-19 World Cup.

2000 world cup

India won their first U19 World Cup title in 2000 when they defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets; It was a tournament that featured names who became stars for the Indian senior team – Mohammad Kaif (captain) and Yuvraj Singh. The team had bowled out Sri Lanka for 178 runs, in which Shalabh Srivastava took three wickets. In the run-chase, India easily chased down the target of 179 runs with contributions from all the top and middle-order batsmen.

2006 World Cup:

In February 2006, India once again reached the Under-19 World Cup final, but it ended in disappointment. India had to face defeat by 38 runs against arch-rival Pakistan. Despite chasing a modest target of 110 runs, the Indian team faltered and were bowled out for only 71 runs, giving them a crushing defeat in the final for the second time.

2008 World Cup:

India continued its strong performance and reached the final stage of the next edition of the tournament. Led by Virat Kohli, the young Indian team put up a spirited performance to defeat South Africa by 12 runs (D/L method) in the final, showcasing their resilience and determination on the grand stage.

2012 World Cup:

In 2012, India once again had a victorious journey in the Under-19 World Cup held in Australia. Under the leadership of Unmukt Chand, the Indian team won against Australia by six wickets in the final. Chand's remarkable century earned him the Player of the Match award.

2016 World Cup:

Despite reaching the final of the 2016 edition, India faced disappointment in the final encounter. India had to face defeat by five wickets in the final against the strong West Indies team. Chasing a target of 146, the Caribbean team won with just three balls remaining, leaving India to contemplate what might have been.

2018 world cup:

India recovered from its previous setback and captured the trophy in the next edition of the Under-19 World Cup. Facing Australia in the final, the Prithvi Shaw-led side won by eight wickets as they defeated the Yellow Team in a one-sided encounter. With the help of Manjot Kalra's century, the team achieved the target of 219 runs with 11 overs remaining.

2020 world cup:

India's journey at the 2020 U19 World Cup ended in disappointment as they lost the final against neighbors Bangladesh. India were all out for just 177 runs and Bangladesh surprised many by achieving the target with three wickets to spare.

2022 world cup:

In the recent edition, India won their fifth Under-19 World Cup title thanks to a brilliant all-round performance from Raj Bawa. Facing England in the final, India performed brilliantly and won. Bawa's exceptional figures of 5/31 with the ball and a crucial 35 off 54 balls with the bat played a vital role in India's remarkable victory, cementing their status as champions once again.

Leave a Reply

Discover more from OlxPraca

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading