How has India performed in its eight Under-19 World Cup finals so far?

India will take on Australia in the final of the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 on Sunday, February 11 at Willowmoor Park, Benoni. The Men in Blue will be appearing in their fifth consecutive final and ninth overall in the tournament. They are also the most successful side in the history of the competition, with five titles.

India has been unbeaten in the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 and has registered some impressive wins. They topped Group A by winning all three of their matches by huge margins. The Men in Blue started their journey with an 84-run win over Bangladesh in Bloemfontein and defeated Ireland and the United States by the same margin of 201 runs at the same venue.

India Continued its undefeated streak in the Super Six round also. They defeated New Zealand by a huge margin of 214 runs and then defeated Nepal by 132 runs. In the first semi-final, the defending champions faced a challenge from South Africa, but showed courage and won by two wickets.

As India prepare to face Australia in the final of the ICC Men's Under-19 World Cup 2024, we look back at how they have performed in their last eight matches in the summit clash of the event.

#1 (2000) – India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets, Colombo

Yuvraj Singh was the star of India's 2000 Under-19 World Cup campaign. (Photo: Getty Images)

India registered its first victory Under-19 World Cup When they defeated hosts Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final of the 2000 edition in Colombo.

The Men in Blue in this edition were led by Mohammad Kaif and the team also included Yuvraj Singh, Ritinder Sodhi, Ajay Ratra and Venugopal Rao – all of whom played for the senior Indian team with varying degrees of success.

Talking about the final, Sri Lanka won the toss and batted first, but were bowled out for 178 runs in 48.1 overs due to Shalabh Srivastava's contribution of 3/33. India's chase was led by Sodhi (39*) and Neeraj Patel (34*), while Yuvraj and Manish Sharma contributed 27 runs each.

#2 (2006) – India lost to Pakistan by 38 runs, Colombo

In the final of the 2006 edition, India lost to arch-rivals Pakistan by 38 runs in Colombo. Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit SharmaRavindra Jadeja and Piyush Chawla featured in the final in which India suffered a batting collapse.

Batting first, Pakistan could only score 109 runs in 41.1 overs as Chawla took four wickets and Jadeja took three. However, Anwar Ali was brilliant with 5/35 as the Men in Blue were all out for 71 in 18.5 overs.

Pujara was out for 0, while Rohit was out for 4 and Jadeja for 6, leaving India at 23/7 after eight overs. While Pujara was out on 0 in the final, he was the Player of the Series after scoring 349 runs.

#3 (2008) – India beat South Africa by 12 runs (DLS method), Kuala Lumpur

Virat Kohli led the Indian team in the 2008 Under-19 World Cup.  (Photo: Getty Images)Virat Kohli led the Indian team in the 2008 Under-19 World Cup.  (Photo: Getty Images)
Virat Kohli led the Indian team in the 2008 Under-19 World Cup. (Photo: Getty Images)

India's second win in the Under-19 World Cup came in 2008 when they defeated South Africa by 12 runs (DLS method) in the final in Kuala Lumpur. The side was led by current batting superstar Virat Kohli And Jadeja and Manish Pandey were also included in it.

The Proteas won the toss and bowled first and produced a brilliant performance to restrict India to 159 runs as Tanmay Srivastava (46) was the only batsman to make a significant score.

South Africa were given a revised target of 116 runs in 25 overs, but India's bowlers produced a strong effort to restrict the opposition to 103/8. Ajitesh Argal, Jadeja and Siddharth Kaul took two wickets each.

#4 (2012) – India beat Australia by 6 wickets, Townsville

India defeated Australia by six wickets in the 2012 Under-19 World Cup final in Townsville. side led Unmukt ChandWho has now retired from Indian cricket and plays league cricket in America.

Ironically, Chand was the player of the match in the 2012 Under-19 World Cup final, but could not continue his impressive performance. India bowled first in the game and restricted the Australians to 225/8, as Sandeep Sharma claimed 4/54.

After this, Captain Chand chased the target by scoring unbeaten 111 runs on 130 balls, while Smit Patel contributed 62* runs on 84 balls.

#5 (2016)- India lost to West Indies by 5 wickets, Mirpur

Men in Blue suffered a five-wicket defeat at the hands of West Indies in Mirpur In 2016 Under-19 World Cup final. Ishan Kishan led India in the tournament and a talented team performed Rishabh PantWashington Sundar and Sarfaraz Khan.

When put to bat by the Windies, India were all out for 145 runs in 45.1 overs, while Sarfaraz played a solo inning of 51 runs in 89 balls. In bowling, Alzarri Joseph and Ryan John took three wickets each, while Keemo Paul took two wickets.

Despite Mayank Dagar's 3/25, West Indies achieved the target in 49.3 overs.

#6 (2018) – India beat Australia by 8 wickets, Mount Maunganui

India's 2018 Under-19 World Cup squad (Photo: Getty Images)India's 2018 Under-19 World Cup squad (Photo: Getty Images)
India's 2018 Under-19 World Cup squad (Photo: Getty Images)

India registered a comprehensive eight-wicket win over Australia in the final of the 2018 Under-19 World Cup at Mount Maunganui.

After losing the toss and electing to bowl first, India gave a strong performance and restricted the Australian team to 216 runs in 47.2 overs. Four bowlers took two wickets each. After this, opener Manjot Kalra scored 101* runs on 102 balls, while Harvik Desai remained unbeaten on 47 runs on 61 balls and India won in 38.5 overs.

Prithvi Shaw led the victorious Indian side and also performed Shubman GillRiyan Parag and Shivam Mavi.

#7 (2020) – India lost to Bangladesh by 3 wickets, Potchefstroom

India lost to Bangladesh by three wickets in the 2020 Under-19 World Cup final in Potchefstroom. The Priyam Garg-led team reached the final as favourites, but failed to turn up to the party on the big day.

Sent in to bat by Bangladesh, the Men in Blue were restricted to 177 all out in 47.2 overs despite Yashasvi Jaiswal's knock of 88 off 121 balls. India fought hard with the ball, but Pervez Hussain Emon (47 off 79) and captain Akbar Ali (43* off 77) powered Bangladesh to victory in a thrilling final.

except JaiswalTilak Verma, Dhruv Jurel, Ravi Bishnoi and Kartik Tyagi also participated in the 2020 Under-19 World Cup final.

#8 (2022) – India beat England by 4 wickets, North Sound

India recorded a tight four-wicket win over England in the 2022 Under-19 World Cup final in North Sound, Antigua.

In the final, England won the toss and batted first, but India performed very well and restricted the opposition to 189 runs in 44.5 overs. Raj Bawa took 5/31, while Ravi Kumar took 4/34.

In the chase, the Men in Blue lost Angkrish Raghuvanshi for a duck on the second ball. Sheikh Rashid (50 out of 84), Nishant Sindhu (50* off 54) and Raj Bawa (35 off 54) combined to lead India to their fifth Under-19 World Cup title as they won in 47.4 overs.

Get lightning fast live cricket scores only of your favorite matches krik rocket app

Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda

Edited by Renin Wilben Albert

profile picture

var fbPixelFired = false;
var pixelID = “952063904834769”;
document.addEventListener(“scroll”, function() { loadFBPixel() });
document.addEventListener(“mousemove”, function() { loadFBPixel() });
function loadFBPixel() {
if(fbPixelFired) {
fbPixelFired = true;
fbq(‘init’, pixelID);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”);
fbq(‘track’, ‘ViewContent’);

Leave a Reply

Discover more from OlxPraca

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading