High-profile names showing interest in running for city of Kelowna – Okanagan

A well-known lineup of potential candidates is starting to emerge for the upcoming Kelowna, B.C., municipal election.

Late last week, nomination packages for the Oct. 15 election were made available through the City Clerk’s office. To date, two people have expressed interest in running for mayor and another 16 for council.

David Habib and Glendon Smedley are currently the only two people who have expressed interest in the Kelowna mayoral seat. Habib is known for his connection to Liquid Zoo and Smedley ran for council in 2014.

Read more:

Former Global Okanagan News anchor is seeking a seat on Kelowna City Council.

Tom Dias has indicated his intention to run, although he has not yet received a nomination package, nor has incumbent Mayor Colin Basran.

Story continues below ad.

Among the 16 people running for council are current councilor Lyle Wooldridge and former Kelowna Lake Country MP Ron Cannon. Cannon was ousted in 2015, when Liberal MP Stephen Fuhrer was elected. Cannon was also on the council from 1996 to 2005.

One of the most recognizable names on the council list is David Lindsay. During the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, Lindsey became a prominent anti-mask and anti-mandate rally organizer.

Lindsey was charged with two counts of assault after an incident outside the Interior Health building in downtown Kelowna in the summer of 2021.

Click to play video: 'Colin Basran Re-Elected Kelowna Mayor'

Colin Basran re-elected as mayor of Kelowna.

Colin Basran Re-Elected Mayor of Kelowna – October 21, 2018

Another person with a similar background who has picked up the nomination package is Bruce Ordzik.

Oredzuk gained notoriety when he was caught on video yelling at a security guard to “go back to your country” after the guard asked him to leave the property of a COVID-19 vaccine clinic on Springfield Road on July 13, 2021. .

Story continues below ad.

Oredzuk was later charged with one count of “threats to cause death or bodily harm” after he verbally assaulted a Global TV reporter at a separate anti-vaccine rally last year, and on that charge Will appear in court on Thursday.

Click to play video: 'BC Premier John Horgan Announces He Will Not Seek Re-election'

BC Premier John Horgan has announced he will not run for re-election.

BC Premier John Horgan announces he will not seek re-election – June 28, 2022

Nominations also include Heather Friesen, Brian Rogers, Gregg Dahmes, Gord Lovegrove, Anthony Shepherd, Alan Vanderheide, James Wendland, Bal Grewal, Elaine McMurray, James Kay, Amrit Brar and Amarjit S. Lally.

Kelowna residents will go to the polls on Oct. 15 to elect a mayor and eight councilors for the 2022-2026 term. In addition, voters will elect four trustees to the School District No. 23 Board of Education.

For up-to-date information on elections, visit kelowna.ca/election All the details of where and when to vote will be listed.

Story continues below ad.

Click to play video: 'David Abbey launches BC NDP leadership race'

8:46 a.m
David Abbey opens BC NDP leadership race.

David Abbey opens BC NDP leadership race.

© 2022 OlxPraca, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.