American authors dominate Booker Prize nominees.

LONDON — Elizabeth Strout, Karen Joy Fowler and Leila Motley are among six American authors nominated for this year’s Booker Prize, which announced the nominees in a news release Tuesday.

Strout, the highest-profile author on the 13-strong list, “Oh William!” Nominated for, a novel about a grieving woman who helps her ex-husband investigate his family past. Karen Joy Fowler, for “Booth,” a fictional family portrait of the clan around Abraham Lincoln’s assassin, John Wilkes Booth; and Leila Motley, for “Nightcrawling,” a bestseller about a disillusioned black teenager in California who ends up in a sex-trafficking ring.

Other Americans nominated are Hernan Diaz for “Trust,” Selby Wayne Schwartz for “After Safe” and Percival Everett for “The Trees.”

The Booker Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious literary awards, is awarded annually to the author of a novel written in English and published in Great Britain or Ireland. It is famous for capping literary careers and creating new stars, with recent winners including Margaret Atwood, Bernardine Evarstow and Douglas Stewart.

Until 2014, the prize was only open to authors from the United Kingdom, Ireland, Commonwealth of Nations and Zimbabwe, but since this year, when it was expanded to include writers of any nationality, Britain’s literary body regularly worries about the dominance of American authors in the Booker list. Tuesday’s announcement is likely to rekindle those fears, although the nominees include three British and two Irish writers, as well as Zimbabwe’s NoViolet Bulawayo and Sri Lanka’s Shehan Karunatilaka.

Among the British writers on the list is Alan Garner, 87, who the Booker says is its oldest nominee ever, and who is well-known in Britain. A leading author of children’s fantasy novels In the 1960s and 1970s.

The nominated novels are extremely diverse in terms of subject matter. Bulawayo is nominated for “Glory,” an animal story following the fall of a dictatorship. Maddie Mortimer is nominated for “Maps of our Spectacular Bodies,” a novel whose narrators include both a dying mother and the cancer that is killing her.

Neil McGregor, former director of the British Museum and head of this year’s judges, highlighted the genre in a news release announcing the nominations, saying the books included “story, fiction and allegory, fantasy, meditation and thriller.” Included. Even so, he said, two major themes were clear: how “individual life is shaped and determined by long historical processes,” and “the elusive nature of truth.”

“To the extent that we can rely on the word, spoken or written, many of these books have real subject matter,” McGregor said.

The Booker judges, who also include critic Shahida Bari and novelist Elaine Mabanco, will now read all the nominated books again before adding them to a shortlist of six titles, to be announced on 6 September. The winning novel, whose author will receive a prize of 50,000 pounds, or about $60,000, will be announced at an event in London on October 17.

Here is the full long list:

  • NoViolet Bulawayo, “Glory”

  • Hernan Diaz, “Trust”

  • Percival Everett, “The Tree”

  • Karen Joy Fowler, “Booth”

  • Alan Garner, “Trickle Walker”

  • Sheehan Karunatilaka, “The Seven Moons of Mali Alameda”

  • Claire Keegan, “Little Things Like This”

  • Graeme McRae Burnett, “Case Study”

  • Audrey Magee, “Colony”

  • Maddie Mortimer, “Maps of Our Magnificent Bodies”

  • Lily Motley, “Night Crawling”

  • Selby Wayne Schwartz, “After Sappho”

  • Elizabeth Strout, “Oh William!”